Corsair and the Sky Pirates wins Two BookFest Book Awards for Spring 2023

The first awards for Corsair and the Sky Pirates have arrived! The BookFest Spring 2023 book awards recognized Corsair with two 2nd Place trophies—Fantasy – Gaslamp and Science Fiction – Steampunk. This is the first book awards for my steampunk historical fiction and its a great honor for me an Curious Corvid Publishing.

The BookFest Awards honors authors who create outstanding works of fiction and nonfiction. Books are judged in categories based on genre, theme, and aesthetics. Entries will be vetted by an initial team, then the final places will be determined by an elite team of experts in the literary and entertainment world.

Awards are assigned based on first, second, third and honorable mention, according to their score. This means that sometimes not every category has a first place, second and/or third place winner. If no books in that category rated appropriately, then no award was granted in that place. Likewise, several books sometimes tie for first place, second and third place. Much like getting a letter grade in school, sometimes there are more “A”s in the class because there are outstanding students who warrant that grade. Books are similar. Sometimes there are several outstanding books deserving of their place in The BookFest Awards.

“The goal in the judging process is to highlight books in niche or often unrecognized genres as well as books that sometimes can dominate top-level genres. At The BookFest, we feel it is important to give niche or often unrecognized genres a chance to shine, too.”

 Black Chateau Enterprise and Books That Make You bring you The BookFest

A brilliant inventor . . . A prolific writer . . . A chance meeting between Nikola Tesla and Jules Verne created a world you could never imagine. A world powered by steam generated not from coal or fuel but from a meteor fragment. Tesla discovered a comet named Uriel was raining pieces of these powerful meteorites across the globe whenever it passed near the Earth. That led to an Industrial Revolution years ahead of its time—a steampunk revolution—but even progress had a price. While the rich and powerful lived in luxury in this industrial new world, the everyday people groveled beneath the boot of their corporate masters.

One man brought hope to the people as he pursued Tesla’s dream. His exploits were legendary, his crew infamous, and his airship a vision of the future. Corsair and the Sky Pirates flew across the globe, carrying out deeds that spurred the imagination. The swashbuckling Corsair was as handsome as he was cool, calm, and calculating. His crew was a diverse assortment of renegades many authorities considered lowlifes and criminals. Still, they were all dedicated to Corsair’s mission, working with Tesla to end the corporate rule strangling the planet. They came from every corner of the globe . . . From the outback in Australia to the American Southwest and the rough streets of Harlem in New York City, across Europe, and to the Far East. The crew of the airship Galeru, so named for a mythical rainbow serpent, never faltered and never wavered.

You can pick up your copy of Corsair and the Sky Pirates at Amazon and other booksellers. You can get a signed copy at my upcoming book signing events, McKay New and Used Books in Manassas, VA, on Saturday, April 29, and Barnes and Noble Potomac Yards in Alexandria, VA, on Sunday, April 30. I hope to see you there!

Mark Piggott is an award-winning independent author of several fantasy/steampunk novels and short stories. A 23-year U.S. Navy veteran, his stories will take you from the shores of eternal Avalon to a dystopian steampunk future and other worlds.

The Forever Avalon fantasy book series—including Forever Avalon, The Dark Tides, and The Outlander War—is available online at Amazon and other booksellers. His fantasy steampunk novel, The Last Magus: A Clockwork Heart, is available through Lulu and other booksellers.

Cross over The River of Souls in a fantasy novella and the steampunk historical fiction, Corsair and the Sky Pirates from Curious Corvid PublishingThe Last Magus: Dragonfire and Steel and The Prometheus Engine: Book Four of the Forever Avalon Series, are coming soon. Stay tuned for more new fantastic stories from the imagination of Mark Piggott.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.